The defense rests and Ryan speaks.

With my kind of crazy work schedule, well I don’t get on here and blog as much as I’d like,  however today-well things must be said.

And I’ll get to Ryan Franklin’s comments here in a bit, but first we have to talk about what I know is bothering Cardinals fans left and right.  And that folks is the play of the defense, I mean I didn’t even get to see the first game due to our favorite black out, and I know the defense played – well not so good.  I saw the highlight, or low light of Tyler Greene’s horrible throw home.  And as of this writing I have witnessed two errors (one by Holliday and one by Jaime Garcia), and this game still is in the 5th inning.  If Holliday wasn’t such a slugger at the plate and didn’t make up for it by still hitting and scoring, I’d be more upset at him.  But hey Matt, you keep doing what you’re doing man, it’s all good. And Jaime, you just keep your head in the game and keep pitching like you are and all will be good too.  But still the defense needs to tighten up, and Jake Westbrook needs to pitch better as well.  The Cardinals scored 6 runs at home for the first time this season and it was still a loss, so come on fellas and tighten up the defense. 

Okay I have to get to the elephant in the room, and that was both the performance and subsequent reaction by a one Ryan Franklin.  I am going to break down his comments a little at a time so to be absolutely fair in my reaction and what I think is the majority of Cardinals Nation.

“Sure, I hear it,” Franklin said after the game. “I guess they have short memories too because I think I’ve been pretty good here. It doesn’t bother me, but it just shows some people’s true colors. You’re either a fan or you’re not. “

WE have short memories? Let me see Ryan you have a short memory, because when you were doing well, did or did not Cardinal Nation give you praise, kudos, standing ovations etc….? So don’t tell me I have short memory, because I cheered when you were doing well.  Don’t tell me I’m showing my true colors, my colors are Cardinal Red and as long as you wear that Bird on the Bat you are subject to both praise and criticism.

“You don’t boo your own team. I don’t care who you are or what you say or just because you spent your money to come here to watch us play that somebody happens to make one bad pitch and give up a homer and you are going to start booing him? I’ve been here for five years, and four years I’ve been pretty good.”

First off, again we as paying fans, and as fans in general have our right to show our frustration when a player is generally not getting the job done.  You’ve snatched victory from the jaws of defeat, way too many times and as a fan I have a right to voice my displeasure.  Oh and Ryan, not to bruise your ego, but I was not booing the team… I was booing YOU! You’re the reason I boo’ed period… Now to the rest of your statement… ONE BAD PITCH???? ARE YOU SERIOUS???? I would gather you’ve had more bad pitches than good, I mean lets face it Ryan you’re not the same pitcher and you can deny deny deny all you want, but the fact is you’re not…sorry reality check there.  And to your statement about being here five years an four have been pretty good…. try maybe 3 and 1/2 tops.  You ended the season as a dud last year, you’ve opened this season as a dud and you were never a lights out closer.  Oh you’d get the saves but we as Cardinals fans had to hold our breath every time you came in, so don’t give me that. I’m not buying it.

“You should go write stories about the fans booing,” Franklin said. “They are supposed to be the best fans in baseball. Yeah right.”
Okay to take a shot at the fans like that, is well plain and simple the words of a cry baby.  I thought closers were supposed to have thick skin.  Ryan, the Cardinals fans are the best in baseball! Can you imagine the turmoil your life would be if you pitched like you are here in New York, or Philadelphia or Chicago?  You’d be hearing alot worse, and not just fans.  See Ryan the media has been fairly easy on you as well as your manager, so realize something.  For you to spout that line at the fans of the Cardinals, well makes you look lame.  Face it Ryan, you’ve had it pretty easy considering.

“I don’t want to make a big deal about it because it doesn’t bother me,” Franklin said, “but I’m just saying, and I guarantee you that everybody in here agrees. It doesn’t affect me. I could care less. But like I said, it’s pretty tired.”

If it doesn’t bother you, then why say it.  You know it bothers me and other Cardinals fans who openly cheered for you when you made the All Star team and things like that to hear you say stuff like this.

As of this writing Ryan Franklin has come out and apologized, and where as I cant forget what he spouted off in the heat of emotion, I can forgive it.

“I’m frustrated with myself. I can understand why the fans are frustrated,” Franklin said in a statement to St. Louis media on Wednesday night. “I’ve loved my time here in St. Louis. It’s my favorite place to play. It’s just a frustrating time for me right now, because I feel like I’m letting everyone down.”

In his statement, Franklin said emotions had gotten the best of him. He also said St. Louis was his favorite city to play in.

“Things didn’t come out the right way. It was right after the game and I said things I shouldn’t have said. I apologize for that,” Franklin said.

“It was the wrong thing to say, but at the same time I was frustrated. I am frustrated. I’m just trying to do my best to do everything I can to get back on track. So that’s what I’m trying to do. I’m trying to get back out there and help this team.”

 I am the first to admit than when emotions take over, I have been known to say stuff that I wish I could take back.  Heck my boss at work sometimes thinks as well as my wife, that sometimes its best to follow the “10 second rule”.  You know count to ten, and chances are by the time you reach 10, you will no longer feel exactly as you did when you were going to say something you regret.  So Ryan Franklin, I am willing to let it slide, because as I said, what my problems with you were, they were not at you the person but more you the guy being paid to end games for the St Louis Cardinals.  I’m glad you’ve seen the error of your ways, and owned up and apologized.  Personally I still think that you no longer have it, as far as a closer goes.  I would still like to see you hang it up, and use your knowledge to help out the young guns in the pen.  I was so happy to see young Eduardo Sanchez work another almost flawless inning.  When I say almost flawless, he only got two strikeouts.  I was equally happy for Mitchell Boggs earning his first career save, and he had that almost arrogance when he came in, that I knew he was going to nail it down.  It is my opinion that you would make an excellent assistant to the staff as another coach.  Again I think you know what needs to be done to close games out, I just don’t think you have the tools to do it…and again this is not personal at all.

Lastly I would like Ryan Franklin and any other players who feel the need to get on the bad side of the fans to take notice of what I think was one of the classiest moves I’ve seen in a long time.  For those that don’t know, former Cardinals OF Rick Ankiel took out a full page ad in the Post-Dispatch, thanking the fans of St. Louis…here take a look

To me that was a class move altogether.  I actually miss alot of the things about Rick Ankiel, I’ll never forget a certain couple of throws he made from CF one night in Colorado.  You guys remember those dont you?  Ask Matt Holliday, as he was a member of the Colorado Rockies at the time.  I still think injuries really took their toll on Ankiel and he is now back to healthy and showing what he was showing as a member of the Cardinals.  Not to take anything away from Colby, but I don’t think Colby will ever posess some of the raw skills that Ankiel displays in the outfield.  I kind of still wish Rick Ankiel was still a Cardinal, again taking nothing away from Colby Rasmus.

In closing, I am both bummed and excited at the results from yesterday/last night’s doubleheader.  Disappointed that the team couldn’t pull off the sweep, but happy that at least they are now scoring runs in front of the home folks.  I was a bit worried about that, and am glad I was wrong.  I’m glad for Jaime Garcia, it was a rough outing and an early one for young Jaime with his 5 innings of work, but on the flip side equally glad that Jason Motte, Eduardo Sanchez and Mitchell Boggs came in and took care of business and the Cardinals are officially tied for first.  Yes I know with 3 other teams, but so what.  I heard some rumblings that the NL Central is mediocre because there are 4 teams tied for first with 9-9 records, again so what.  I am looking forward to today’s game because it’s a day game and I can actually see it without a black out, which allows me to watch one of my favorite shows

And my recorded shows such as

So let’s put all the negative stuff behind us, move on and win this game and get ready for the arrival of our favorite team from Cincinnati, in what should be must see TV.   And to all the nay-sayers out there….

Really?

This entry was posted in eduardo sanchez, mitchell boggs, rick ankiel, ryan franklin, St Louis Cardinals, the office, the ultimate fighter. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The defense rests and Ryan speaks.

  1. Nicole says:

    Very good post. I am willing to forgive Franklin, I just hope he uses this as a springboard to his return.

Leave a Reply

